Happy birthday to me…

Who can wish me better than me! So, here it is – a happy birthday post to me and of course, happy birthday to Lord Krishna who graciously decided to share his birthday with me this year. All in all, it was a day of baking a cake for me and making all the traditional sweetmeats for the baby Krishna. The cheedai had turned out crisp and golden and the vella cheedai that FIL made was delicious too. I messed up the aval payasam but then the baby has once said even if we offer water with devotion, He’d accept it; so I didn’t quite fret over the messed up payasam. The nei appam turned out good too!

And here’s the recipe for the cake I made. This is a Donna Hay recipe. I did modify the quantity, especially for the frosting as I’d run out of icing sugar and cocoa powder and forgot to pick up more because this cake was a last minute decision! And, no I don’t have awesome pics of the cake because the cake just too awesome for us to wait to take pics!

Chocolate buttermilk Cake with a cocoa cream cheese frosting
Chocolate buttermilk Cake with a cocoa cream cheese frosting

Chocolate buttermilk Cake

  • Servings: 2 6 in cakes + 6 cup cakes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

For the cake

  1. All purpose flour –  2 cups / 300 gm
  2. Butter  125 gm
  3. Eggs – 2
  4. Vanilla Extract – 1 tsp
  5. Baking soda – 1 tsp
  6. Water – 1 cup / 250 ml
  7. Cocoa powder – 1/3 cup / 35 gm
  8. Buttermilk – 1/2 cup / 125 ml
  9. Sugar – 2 cups / 440 gm

For the icing

  1. Butter – 100 gm softened
  2. Cream cheese – 160 gm (Original recipe calls for 500 gm and a re-blogged recipe says 250 is enough. I had about 160 gm and that’s what I used)
  3. Icing sugar – 1/2 cup – sifted (Original recipe calls for 2 cups but I find it too sweet. And trust me, 1/2 cup was just right)
  4. Cocoa powder – 20 gm (or less? – Original recipe called for 50 gm, and I had only 20 gm… so.. )

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 160 deg C.
  2. In a saucepan, add water, butter and cocoa powder and heat gently until butter melts. Remove from heat.
  3. Mix flour, baking powder and sugar in a bowl and add the cocoa mixture. Whisk well until incorporated.
  4. Add eggs, buttermilk and vanilla and whisk to combine.
  5. Pour in lined pans (I used 2 6″ square pans, original recipe calls for 2 8″ round pans. I made remaining batter as cup cakes)
  6. Bake for 40 mins (or until a skewer comes out with bit of crumbs sticking on to it)
  7. Let cool.
  8. For the frosting, cream the butter and cream cheese for a good 5 minutes and then whisk in the sugar and cooca powder until smooth, creamy & fluffy.
  9. Frost your cakes with a nice piping bag and tips or just slather it on!

Tip: A sprinkle of Himalayan Pink Salt simply enhanced the yumm factor!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. aarti says:

    have a super duper year ahead di…

    Btw, this is the 1st time am seeing a cake recipe with buttermilk and eggs… interesting.. neshtu time am in blore will tell you and make it for me pls 🙂

    Like

    1. dipsiyer says:

      Thanks di 🙂 And done, when you come, let me know 🙂 Or if I come to Chennai, I will bring 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

