Coffee cake – Happy birthday to the husband

I’d stopped baking a few months ago because my wrist decided it had too much activity on the smart phone and laptop and I was diagnosed with what’s called as De Quervain’s tenosynovitis (otherwise known as washerwoman’s wrist). It’s a painful condition affecting the tendons around the thumb and wrist. After a few months of wrong treatment by a senior doctor in Bangalore, and then some intense (!!) physiotherapy recommended by my favorite CSK doctor (who also happens to be an amazing food blogger from Chennai), my wrist started healing. I’d stopped writing, baking – basically everything that I loved because it was just too painful.

As I healed slowly, I decided to bake something for the husband’s birthday. The usual chocolate, vanilla & red velvet didn’t cut it out for me (not that I don’t love these flavors but I wanted something different). With a few days to go, I’d zeroed in on a coffee flavored cake. It also helped that the husband was going out (read staying out of my hair for several hours) with his friends, so I could bake at peace.

cake

Coffee Cake

  • Servings: 2-10
  • Print

Recipe Source: Pioneer Woman

What you need:

  • Flour – 2 cups
  • Sugar – 2 cups
  • Salt – 1/4 tsp
  • Butter – 215 gm
  • Instant coffee – 3 tbsp
  • Buttermilk – 1/2 cup
  • Eggs – 2
  • Baking Soda – 1 tsp
  • Vanilla – 2 tsp

Method:

  • Grease and line 2 7″ (or 9″) round pans.
  • Pre-heat the oven to 170° C
  • Mix sugar, flour and salt and set aside
  • Melt butter over medium heat.
  • Mix the coffee in 1 cup of boiling water.
  • Once the butter has melted, add the coffee mixture to the butter and let it come to a boil for about 10 seconds.
  • In another bowl, combine buttermilk, eggs, baking soda and vanilla.
  • Pour the butter coffee mixture into the flour mix and combine gently.
  • Add in the egg mixture and gently combine until well mixed.
  • Pour in the pan and bake for 30-40 minutes.
  • Allow to cool completely before tipping it out of the pan

Note that this cake is too  moist and soft. It will break if you are not careful while removing it from the pan.

Once cooled, frost it with a salted caramel frosting (which I will write about later)

Leave a Reply

